In the spirit of The Sound of Music, how can I simply pick a few of my favorite things about London? I love everything about it! Though this isn’t my first time in the city, I truly feel like it’s my first time actually experiencing it. Being older and more independent has really played a large role in making this trip unforgettable. There are also some other things that play into having such a great time, and I can really chalk it up to some great nouns- people, places and things, that is. I have organized my favorites into those categories.

People
    I must say, the people of London are generally an extremely welcoming culture. From those irresistible accents to their personal interest in our backgrounds, it’s been really easy to fit in. However, it’s been even greater getting to know the classmates and professors better. At first, I knew everyone’s name and general Facebook personas, but that’s about it. I never imagined that I’d become so close with my flat mates! We practically have our own language now. In the rare case that anyone could understand the Brooklyn accent we’ve developed, they’d never understand our references, code words and inside jokes. It’s going to be tough adjusting back to our normal dialects.

Places
    I can’t say enough good things about Clerkenwell. Maybe it’s not the stomping ground of royalty, but it’s absolutely perfect for us. When we first got off the bus, all the streets looked the same to me and I thought I’d need a map everywhere I went for the next few weeks. However, that only lasted a few days. Now I can buzz around like I’ve been living here for ages and I feel right at home.  There are three great pubs within walking distance that I have fallen in love with-The Slaughtered Lamb, the Betsey Trotwood and The Bowler. They’re so full of personality and warmth. Each one is traditionally British but unique and quirky at the same time. We became friends with the owner of The Bowler and I refer to it as Cheers now… it’s where “everybody knows your name.”
Besides The Bowler, I’ve also befriended Tesco and a small place called Gail’s that is right up the street. Let me let you in on a secret: everything at Gail’s is the best. The pastries, the coffee, the tea, the salads, the breads, the breakfast, the juice… when I start to think about it, I realize that I won’t be here long enough to try everything at Gail’s that I want to!

Things
     Though people and places are making this trip worthwhile, those two aspects would be nothing without the “things.” Unfortunately, most of these “things” are clothing stores and food items. For example: I can’t get enough chips. They’re better than French fries and I just can’t explain why. It should not make sense because they’re one and the same. However, I drench my chips in vinegar (something I’ve never done at home) and are usually accompanied by an amazing sandwich from The Bowler called a toasty. It’s like a grilled cheese but infinitely better.  When I’m not gaining weight by smothering myself in fried food, my second favorite thing to do is shop. This is equally as unhealthy because my dreams are bigger than my wallet, and Topshop is bigger than both combined. It’s not so much Topshop that I’m in love with, but the things inside. The clothes and accessories are like the extremely cool and hip cousins of American clothing. Everything is bedazzled, bright and studded- a fashion fanatic’s dream come true.

All and all, these people, places and things have broadened my horizons (and perhaps, my waistband). OI will continue to “live it up” because as soon as I get home, it’s back to the grind of summer classes and work!
Picture
This is my friend Ben. He is very big. Though it's not very "original," this has consistently been my favorite view in London. I never get used to seeing Ben... it's exciting every time!



Leave a Reply.