So far being in London has been exciting in many ways. Of course, the fashion presence in this big city is unbelievably more visible and diverse than in Kent, Ohio! There’s no single style- we keep saying to each other that in London, “anything goes!”
       
    Though the styles are very vibrant and individual, from the surface the fashion campaigns don’t seem to be very different. I’m seeing a lot of advertisements that look similar to the ones at home, especially saturated around the shopping areas. Researching individual campaigns on the internet proved to me that the process is pretty much the same- get to know the audience, offer a discount, use social media as a means of engaging communication.

            I began to think that I wouldn’t find many differences until I spoke with Josh Solana, account executive at We Are Social, who worked on a campaign that launched a fashion line in Tesco stores. He reinforced that the practice is about the same here, but the difference lies in the message.
            Josh had just returned from the U.S. and said that the messages there are more direct whereas in the U.K. brands rely on brand power and creativity rather than one clear-cut message. After hearing that, I noticed that the ads around aren’t so “in your face.”     
            By that I mean I haven’t seen so many billboards or posters for stores where the main focus is the website or the particular promotion going on- rather there’s just the name of the brand and photography.
            It seems like speaking with professionals is going to prove to give the most tangible information for me. So far, I have only been able to speak with one but I have two more in the works that will hopefully be able to better answer my research.
Picture
Even the lamp posts here are stylish. This one here appears to be Chanel! (Modeled by Brittany Hill, my glamorous roommate).



Leave a Reply.