Wow, what a whirlwind! I can’t believe this whole experience is wrapping up. In mere hours, I will be presenting my final project for Global Advertising and Public Relations. Of course, this is a relief, but certainly a bittersweet one. As much as I’m ready to complete the work, I don’t want this time to end. With interviews falling through and last minute strokes of luck, the project itself has had so many ups and downs. My research on fashion campaigns in PR was difficult yet rewarding because I am truly interested in the subject and got the chance to speak to some pretty cool and interesting individuals. I am now much more confident in my abilities to contact professionals and a more efficient researcher. Not to mention I’ve had plenty of practice presenting to a group.
Academic

    My research discovered that PR practices in fashion in the US and the UK aren’t all that different. However, that’s not to say that I didn’t learn a lot. It seems like no matter where you go, each PR campaign has different challenges and audiences, so practices may be similar but there will never be a clear-cut formula for reaching a specific audience. It’s about trial and error.

Professional
    Though I have grown by learning from an academic standpoint, I have also grown professionally. Until this trip, I had never really been in an office setting or truly had insight into the daily lives of professionals in the field I am studying. It’s so different learning about business practices in a book and actually experiencing it firsthand through physically meeting professionals in their work environment. To me, this experience is invaluable. I was always worried that if I decide to want a job in PR, my degree in communications would not be enough to make it. However, not one person that I met here working in PR started out seeking a career in that specific field. I feel so much better knowing that you don’t really need the pressure of sticking to a specific degree and having your life laid out in front of you. It’s very comforting to know this. Seeing the offices at Edelman PR made me realize that I’d love to work in a creative environment similar to that.

Personal   

    All academics and professionals aside, this study abroad experience changed me as a person. I’m no longer Natalie from Pittsburgh who goes to Kent State. Now I am Natalie from Pittsburgh who conquered Kent and even moved on to a big city like London. True, it was only three weeks, but there’s a certain confidence that comes with knowing what it’s like to live outside of the country. Some of the best times of my life happened during the past few weeks, and I did it all without a cell phone (something else to be proud of). All in all, I can’t put a price or description on this experience. I wish it could last longer, but I’m ending this last post on a cheesy 90’s pop song note by quoting Semisonic. “Closing time, every new beginning comes from some other beginning’s end.”

                                          Cheers to all!



Leave a Reply.